Turkey In The List of 8 Nations That Can Buy Iranian Oil: Reports

Turkey has information that is one of eight countries that the United States has temporarily excluded from the list of nations that can buy oil from Iran. This was stated on Friday by the Minister of Energy of Turkey Fatih Donmez, reports AFP.

“We know that Turkey is one of the countries in respect of which an exception was made,” Donmez quotes AFP as saying. “However, we do not know the details yet,” added the Minister of Energy of Turkey. He noted that he was pleased that the United States made an exception for Turkey, allowing it to temporarily buy oil from Iran.

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said on Friday that the United States on Monday, November 5, will publish a list of eight countries that are temporarily removed from the anti-Iranian restrictions. Pompeo did not name these countries but said that such an exception was not made for the European Union.

On May 8, President Donald Trump announced Washington’s withdrawal from the deal that was signed in 2015 and limited Tehran’s nuclear development in exchange for the lifting of UN Security Council sanctions and unilateral restrictive measures imposed by the US and the EU. 

Trump promised not only to return the previous sanctions but also to introduce new ones, to reduce to Iran’s oil income to zero. The first part of the US sanctions commenced from the night of August 7, these restrictive measures covered, in particular, the automotive sector of Iran, the purchase and sale of gold and a number of metals. The remaining sanctions, including those against the Iranian oil sector, will come into force on November 5.

More News at EurAsian Times