India Will Follow IAEA Guidelines To Sanction New Reactors

India will determine the status of new reactors as per IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency) guidelines. The new reactors will be placed under the IAEA while Russia, Kazakhstan, and Canada remain the key supplier of uranium to India.

Australia To Send Uranium Shipment To India In “Near Future”

At present, out of twenty-two operational rectors, 14 are under the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) as these reactors are consuming imported fuel.

The officials emphasised saying, “In 2017, the government-sanctioned ten new pressurised heavy water reactors and a decision on these being put under IAEA safeguards have to be taken.” The ten reactors are placed at different locations. These locations are Kaiga, Karnataka; Chutka, Madhya Pradesh; Gorakhpur, Haryana; and Mahi Banswara, Rajasthan.

Recently, India signed an agreement to attain uranium from Uzbekistan. But this agreement will undergo only after evaluating the status of the imported fuel and domestic uranium. Russia, Kazakhstan, and Canada are the key supplier of uranium to India. India is also considering Uzbekistan and Australia for its fuel needs. India always put its reactors under IAEA protection.

More News at EurAsian Times